Snapchat is used by over 210 million globally. It has some brilliant privacy features and attractive filters. Users like Snapchat’s privacy feature where media vanishes in 24 hours. Even one-on-one chats are deleted after 24 hours. If you don’t want them deleted, I’ll tell you how to save chats on Snapchat.
How to save chats on Snapchat
To save chats on Snapchat, you can use any of the three methods given below.
Method 1: 24 Hours after Viewing
Step 1: Your Snapchat should be updated to the latest version. Launch the app and go to Chats by clicking on the Chat icon located at the bottom-left.
Step 2: Now select a chat by tapping their avatar on the tap left.
Step 3: A pop-up will ask you for your friend’s location. Now click on the three dots and select Delete Chats.
Step 4: Here you’ll see two options: After Viewing and 24 Hours after Viewing.
Method 2: Archiving the chats
You can preserve your chats for a long time by archiving them. Keep in mind that both parties will know that the messages were saved. Only you or the person who archived the chat can undo it.
Step 1: Launch Snapchat and go to Chats.
Step 2: Open a chat you want to save. Now tap on the message and press hold.
Step 3: The chat you selected is now archived.
Method 3: Screenshots/Screen Recording
Another way to save Snapchat chats permanently is to take screenshots or do a quick screen recording.
Keep in mind that the person whose chat you are taking screenshots of will know about it.
Do chats disappear on Snapchat?
Yes, chats do disappear on Snapchat. That is its spotlight feature. Your chats will be visible for 24 hours.
How do you stop Snapchat from deleting messages?
Unfortunately, Snapchat doesn’t provide you with an option that won’t delete your chats. You can change the settings though. Click on the hamburger icon at the top left corner. On the chat settings screen, tap the Delete Chats option. You’ll see two options: After Viewing and 24 hours after Viewing. Snapchat’s default option is set to After Viewing.
Are chats private on Snapchat?
Yes, your snaps and chats are private. Snapchat never sends your snaps or chats to its servers, advertisers, or business partners.
Can you see old messages on Snapchat?
No, you can’t see your old message on Snapchat. All your private chats are deleted after 24 hours. The simple way of keeping a record of your chats is by using a screen recording app.
These were a few ways to save chats on Snapchat. Let us know if these methods help you to save your precious conversation.